Emily’s Food and Recipe Blog

Recipes, menus, cooking, restaurant reviews – All about food!

Coconut cake

Posted by moderndaygourmet on August 30, 2007

Where possible, I’ll share the sources of these great recipes, because seldom do I invent them on my own.  That’s where my left brain comes in.  I can follow any recipe you give me, but making stuff up?  Forget it!  (Well, except I guess that sangria).  Anyway, on to this delicious cake, which my cousin Gayla told me about a couple of weeks ago at a family reunion.  I had some and it was so delicious, I seriously think I could have eaten the whole pan.

1 white cake mix (from a box) – or if you want you can make a white cake from scratch
Eggs, oil, whatever you need to finish making the box cake
1 can cream of coconut
1 can Eagle Brand milk
Cool Whip
1 cup flaked or shredded coconut.

Bake cake according to directions on box in a 13×9 pan.  While it is hot, poke some holes in it with the handle of a wooden spoon.  Pour the cream of coconut and the Eagle Brand milk over, letting it run into the holes.  Let cool.  When it is completely cool, frost with Cool Whip and sprinkle with coconut.  Toast the coconut first if you want.

I have seen a variation on this where you use a devil’s food or chocolate cake instead of white cake, and some caramel or hot fudge instead of cream of coconut, and you sprinkle the top with toffee bits instead of coconut.  It’s usually referred to as “Better than Sex Cake.”  Lest you think my mind is in the gutter, my mother in law assures me this cake is found in most every church cookbook there is.  Hehe.

One Response to “Coconut cake”

  1. Leona Scott said

    I made this recipe for Grandparents’ Day as my mother-in-law loves coconut. She raved about how wonderful the cake is! And it only gets better with time. The next day, it tasted even better. The recipe calls for cream of coconut, but I couldn’t find it at my grocery store so I substituted coconut milk. I used half of the can of milk in the cake batter to make it more moist and I poured the other half over the cake like the recipe calls for. My only recommendation is to shake the can vigorously before pouring. Also, toasting the coconut is a little thing but it makes a big difference in taste.
    Great recipe!
    Thanks,
    Leona

Leave a Reply

 
