Emily’s Food and Recipe Blog

Recipes, menus, cooking, restaurant reviews – All about food!

White Fruit Cake

Posted by moderndaygourmet on August 30, 2007

Okay, I know all the jokes about fruitcake.  How old people love to give it away to others but everyone hates it.  I promise this is different.  Cross my heart.  Not sure if it’s because it’s white or because it’s not dripping with whiskey or what, but it is delicious.  And I don’t love all fruitcake, so it’s not just because I’m weird or have no taste buds or something.  We pretty much have this at Christmas time.  I mean, it’s special, but it is still fruitcake.  This is my grandmother’s recipe, which my mom always made and continues to.

1 pound butter
2 cups sugar
6 eggs, separated
4 cups flour (including dredging)
1 ½ ounces lemon extract
1 pound mixed fruit cake mix
1 pound chopped pecans (4 cups)
1 pound seeded white raisins

Cream butter and sugar, add egg yolks one at a time. Dredge fruit cake mix, raisins and pecans and add to mixture after flour. Add lemon extract. Fold in egg whites which have been stiffly beaten. Bake at 275 for 2 hours.

Leave a Reply

 
