Emily’s Food and Recipe Blog

Recipes, menus, cooking, restaurant reviews – All about food!

Butternut squash ravioli

Posted by moderndaygourmet on October 9, 2007

I love this. Love it. They serve butternut squash ravioli at my favorite restaurant in San Jose, Il Fornaio, which I go to often since I travel to San Jose several times a year on business. I dream about it the whole time I’m on the plane. This recipe calls for homemade pasta but I plan to substitute wonton wrappers and see how I like that. I’m sure making your own pasta is not difficult, but I just don’t have the patience usually.

1 cup small dice butternut squash, roasted and fork mashed
1 cup ricotta
1/2 cup grated Parmesan, plus 2 tablespoons, flaked
1 orange, zested
Salt
Pepper
Grated nutmeg
1 package of wonton wrappers
1 egg, beaten
2 tablespoons butter
10 sage leaves

Mix butternut squash, ricotta, Parmesan, and orange zest. Season with salt, pepper, and nutmeg. Brush pasta sheet with beaten egg and cut into 4-inch squares. Spoon squash filling in the middle of pasta square and fold over. Cut excess pasta with round dough cutter into half moon shape. Place on floured tray.

Boil agnolotti in salted water until tender, about 3 to 4 minutes. Drain and place on a platter. Add butter and sage leaves to a medium sized saute pan and place over medium high heat. Cook butter and sage until butter is golden brown. Spoon butter and sage over agnolotti and sprinkle with flaked Parmesan.

Leave a Reply

 
