Emily’s Food and Recipe Blog

Recipes, menus, cooking, restaurant reviews – All about food!

Rum-glazed plantains

Posted by moderndaygourmet on October 11, 2007

I love Cuban food, so much. I really should move to Miami, so then I could eat it any time I wanted. Alas, that is not too likely. I could live on jerk chicken and pork, black beans and rice, and of course plantains. This was the first time I had cooked them at home. I didn’t have half the things the recipe called for, so I sort of made it up and didn’t really measure too much. That’s not too important for this one. We had these last night with pork loin and corn, all cooked on the grill.

2 plantains (let them get black all over because that’s when they’re really ripe and sweet)
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons dark rum
1/4 cup fruit juice (recipe called for orange but I only had apple. I bet others would work OK)
2 teaspoons lime juice
1 teaspoon nutmeg

Slice plantains diagonally in 1/2 inch slices. Combine other ingredients and then add plantains, stirring to coat. Cook in a skillet over medium heat (or on the grill), stirring a few times, till then are soft, about 15 minutes. Or, you can spread on a cookie sheet (covered with cooking spray) in a single layer and bake at 350 about 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

 
