Emily’s Food and Recipe Blog

Recipes, menus, cooking, restaurant reviews – All about food!

Cranberry sauce

Posted by moderndaygourmet on November 26, 2007

I made cranberry sauce last week and it was really good and so easy. I can’t believe I’ve been eating the stuff out of a can all my life. As simple as this is, everyone should have homemade cranberry sauce. I even made another batch yesterday because I liked it so much I wanted more leftovers. This recipe calls for cinnamon sticks but I didn’t have any so I just used a half teaspoon or so of ground cinnamon instead.

1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
1/2 cup fresh orange juice (about 2 oranges)
1/4 cup water
1 1/2 tablespoons honey
1/8 teaspoon ground allspice
1 (12-ounce) package fresh cranberries
1 (3-inch) cinnamon stick

Preparation
Combine all ingredients in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 12 minutes or until mixture is slightly thickened, stirring occasionally. Discard cinnamon stick; cool completely.

Leave a Reply

 
